Please Don't Buy Molly-Mae's Book

Sincerely, a tired bookseller and exhausted writer

Violet Daniels
6 min readFeb 13, 2022
Image of Molly-Mae provided by Wikimedia Commons, edited by the author using Canva

Usually, I'm all for people writing a book if they feel they have one in them. I had a discussion with a work colleague just the other day over whether a children's picture book author could be called a writer. I said that anyone who writes or publishes should be called a writer.

I say this because I genuinely believe it—most of the time.

I say this because I hate the snobbery around different genres and people claiming that fantasy or young adult is less worthy of acclaim than literary fiction. I say this because of the Karens who come into my bookshop and gasp at the teenagers picking up It Ends With Us, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo or The Love Hypothesis and wishing they would read 'proper' fiction.

Everyone should write if they want to because there's room for everyone and multiple reading tastes. I believe that most people have something valuable to say and add to the world, but not this time.

Molly-Mae needs to live her life before she writes her autobiography

I don't fundamentally disagree that celebrities or well-known figures shouldn't publish books. In fact, some can be quite interesting if they are actually written…

--

--

Violet Daniels

Full time content writer navigating the world one word at a time | Top writer in books & reading | Aspiring novelist | 📚 https://www.violet-daniels.com/